Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Pills 'N' Thrills And Bellyaches (180g) Vinyl LP

London RecordsSKU lp-11151

son, I'm 30, I only went with your mother cos she's dirty
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $28.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 289 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Daytime ravers The Happy Mondays’ breakthrough third album repressed. The record is produced by star DJ Paul Oakenfold and frequent collaborator Steve Osbourne, and is a cornerstone of the Madchester and ‘baggy’ movements. Unlike instantly compelling contemporaneous stuff like The Stone Roses and Primal Scream, this one’s definitely more of a ‘you had to be there’ sort of joint to my ears, although there’s some objectively nice grooves to be excavated. “Kinky Afro” is the big tune but I prefer “God’s Cop,” “Holiday,” “Loose Fit” and “Bob’s Yer Uncle.” The other big single “Step On” is the sole departure from the traditional bass/drums/guitars arrangement, sounding a little more like the sound Oaky was moving toward. Weird note, the coalescence of guitars, maracas (shout to Bez) and psychedelics with an emphasis on grooves, creates odd coincidental parallels with jammy stuff like Grateful Dead. Nice-sounding official repress cut from the original Factory master tapes with reproduced artwork by the original designers and code for digital download.

  • black 180g vinyl pressing
  • cut from original Factory Records master tapes
  • gatefold sleeve w/ artwork carefully reproduced by Central Station Design
  • brand new liner notes by Sylvia Patterson
  • digital download included
  • music label: London Records 2020
reviewed by Big Salad 02/2020
UPC: 5060555212889


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed