Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Point! LP

Get On DownSKU lp-5267

acid inspired fable restored and reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $19.00
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 190 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Although Harry Nilsson might be most famously remembered as John Lennon's drinking partner during his separation from Yoko Ono, he has a back catalog that most musicians would be envious of. The reclusive singer-songwriter released more than an album a year during the period between 1966 and 1977. Falling somewhere in the middle of his career, The Point was essentially a fable, extolling the trials and tribulations of a round-headed person named Oblio growing up in a "Pointed Village" where by rule of order everyone and everything in the land was to have "a point." Following the success of the album it was adapted into an animated short film for ABC by Fred Wolf (who would later go on to produce Puff The Magic Dragon). The Point contained the hit single, "Me And My Arrow" which was sampled for Blackalicious' "Blazing Arrow." How did Nilsson get to the idea of The Point in the first place? "I was on acid," he says, "and I looked at the trees and I realized that they all came to points, and the little branches came to points, and the houses came to point. I thought, 'Oh! Everything has a point, and if it doesn't, then there's a point to it.'" Fully remastered from the original recordings. Includes fully restored comic storyboard, the same that was included with the original vinyl release.

  • Music Label: Get On Down 2012
reviewed by The Voice 07/2012
UPC: 24836788


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed