Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

3rd Eye Vision Vinyl 3LP

Hiero ImperiumSKU hh-5433

Bay Area crew's 1998 debut reissued w/ 9 bonus tracks
2 Reviews
| Ask a question
sale $42.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 429 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

"1998 was a fertile year defined by juggernaut projects from Black Star, Lauryn Hill, Outkast, and others, all of whom synced experimentation with foundational tenets that made the 1990s ferociously groundbreaking. Out of Oakland, California, a collective known as Hieroglyphics were positioning away from industry control, to helm their own assets in manners more suited to their own marketing self-vision. While artists have certainly went solo prior, this came at a critical juncture for the crew during a spiraling and newfound Internet world. Born out of this independent spirit was the crew’s first official studio album 3rd Eye Vision. The album spans twenty-two songs, all featuring beats by Domino who manned the lion’s share of production. A-Plus, Opio, Del, Casual, and Phesto also contributed beats. MCs each had their own song, short interludes highlighting their individuality through short verses, a clear espirit de corps statement. Even among standouts like 'Oakland Blackouts' or 'At The Helm,' perhaps the most celebrated song off the release is 'You Never Knew,' a track that propelled 3rd Eye Vision to #88 on the Billboard Top 200, not an entirely easy feat as a new label competing with the late ‘90s’ abundant onslaught of classic material. Vinyl reissue in deluxe packaging, expansive liner notes and the full original album tracks and a bonus track from the original recording sessions." - Hiero Imperium

  • Bay Area indie hip-hop collective's 1998 debut album reissued w/ 9 bonus tracks
  • black triple vinyl pressing
  • first time on vinyl in 20+ years
  • housed in triple panel gatefold sleeve w/ new liner notes
  • original release year: 1998
  • music label: Hiero Imperium 2019



UPC: 680599101489


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed