Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

6 Pieces Of Silver (180g) Vinyl LP

Blue Note RecordsSKU fr-4633

1956 hard bop from Blue Note's most tenured musician
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"At 27 years, Horace Silver’s tenure as a Blue Note recording artist was the longest of any artist in the history of the label. Silver recorded some of the most beloved albums in the Blue Note catalog, traversing bebop, hard bop, soul jazz, and charting his own path through the 1970s fusion movement. With his 1956 album 6 Pieces of Silver, Silver struck gold with a sterling set of hard bop that introduced one of his greatest compositions, 'Señor Blues.' The indelible theme is one of five excellent Silver originals (plus the standard 'For Heaven’s Sake') performed by an ace quintet featuring Donald Byrd on trumpet, Hank Mobley on tenor saxophone, Doug Watkins on bass, and Louis Hayes on drums. Other highlights include the hard swinging opener 'Cool Eyes,' the stunning ballad 'Shirl,' the intricate stop-start rhythm of 'Camouflage,' and the beguiling Latin beat of 'Enchantment.' This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal." - Blue Note Records

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • mono sound
  • all-analog remaster cut from the original tapes
  • limited edition
  • featuring Horace Silver (p), Hank Mobley (t. sax), Donald Byrd (t), Doug Watkins (b), Louis Hayes (d)
  • music label: Blue Note Records 2021
UPC: 602438176182


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed