Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Africa Must Be Free By 1983 Vinyl LP

VP RecordsSKU rr-2266

sought after Augustus Pablo helmed reggae classic
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.90
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Debut studio album from precocious reggae talent Hugh Mundell. Africa Must Be Free By 1983 was originally recorded in between 1976 and 1978 when Mundell was still a teenager. Augustus Pablo saw Mundell recording at Joe Gibbs' studio and asked to work with him. The two set off for Lee Perry's Black Ark and started recording tracks for what would eventually become this album. Pablo's backing band is rock solid and includes greats like Robbie Shakespeare, Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace and Earl "Chinna" Smith, but it's Mundell's vocal delivery that really makes the record. He's passionate and sincere, especially on cuts like "Let's All Unite" and "My Mind." Also worth checking out is the Prince Jammy produced dub version of the album. Nine tracks in all. Released by Greensleeves on black vinyl housed in a full color sleeve.

  • black vinyl pressing
  • music label: Greensleeves 2017
reviewed by Chillum & Chubler 09/2017
UPC: 601811009413


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed