Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Hypnotic Brass Ensemble Vinyl 2LP

Honest Jon'sSKU fr-3755

official debut from legendary NYC horn-blowing brothers
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

2018 repress! Here's our original review from when this landmark debut first came out on Honest Jon's: I've been following the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble for a couple years now, and I swear they're on the verge of worldwide fame. This group of brothers (all sons of legendary soul jazz musician Philip Cohran) made a name for themselves playing on the streets of NYC (Washington Square Park and Union Square). It's an incredible thing to see a full brass band blowing away on the pavement (or subway platform), not to mention the always funky drummer pounding out the crispest beats. Recently, these guys have been making serious moves, getting flown all over Europe, opening for the Red Hot Chili Peppers and signing to Honest Jon's. And if you've seen them live in a venue, you know what I'm talking about when I say "worldwide"... too much talent and charisma. Very guarded with their recorded music (they've been self releasing slim line CDs since 04), this deluxe packaged album is a Haley's Comet for Hypnotic fans. They went into a real studio to record this, and you can tell the difference immediately. They also incorporated some big name guests like Flea and Tony Allen on "Marcus Garvey," Damon Albarn on "Rabbit Hop" and Malcolm Catto on several tracks. There's also definitive versions of several of their hits including "Aylo" (a song written by Philip Cohran), "Balicki Bone," "Flipside," "Hypnotic" and more. Rock solid from beginning to end. 13 tracks in all, recommended.

  • 2018 repress
  • double vinyl pressing
  • music label: Honest Jons 2018
reviewed by the mgmnt 06/2009
UPC: 63194888


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed