Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Speak For Yourself (Music On Vinyl 180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Music On VinylSKU lp-10391a

long awaited re-release of self-released 2nd album
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $31.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 319 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Speak For Yourself was written, produced, arranged, and funded by Heap without the backing of a record label back in 2005. Heap put everything on the line for this second album, even mortgaging her flat in London to finance it, and the go-for-broke attitude is evident upon listening. Layers abound in the tracks, a conglomeration of piano and sparkling synths mixed with Heap's vocals fluttering in and out. Featuring a guest appearance from Jeff Beck, the album is a breath of fresh air with Heap's personality shining through. Many may recognize a few tracks from spots in TV, film, and hip-hop samples. For example, "Hide and Seek", "Speeding Cars" and "Goodnight and Go" were all featured on The O.C., while "Hide and Seek" was used to promote Lost. I was first hipped to this album (and Imogen in general) back when SNL used the track in one of their digital shorts with Andy Samberg, Bill Hader and our boy Shia LaBouef. Imogen envisions a world where Sarah McLachlan, Shirley Manson and Bjork "do each other's hair and sing into hairbushes." Released by Music On Vinyl so you know this pressing flexes. Pressed on 180g transparent yellow vinyl, limited to 2,000 numbered copies, and comes with printed innersleeve and 4 page booklet with pictures and lyrics. 12 Tracks in all.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • includes "Just For Now" as sampled by Clams Casino
  • transparent yellow vinyl
  • limited to 2,000 numbered copies
  • printed innersleeve
  • 4 page booklet with pictures and lyrics
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 2019
reviewed by Rafiki 2/2019
UPC: 8719262008380


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed