Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Philopsis - 45s Collection Vinyl 2x7"

Dynamite CutsSKU lp-10869

synth + drums + clav, funky transmissions from France circa 1978
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

One of the rarest and rawest library records of all time gets whittled down a special edition 45 double pack. Philopsis is a curious ass record - what’s with the painting on the cover? Who chose the typeface? Not sure what sort of project they had in mind when writing these tracks - the funky clav, crispy ass drums and spacey synthesizer pads don’t really seem like they’d fit into any film or TV production from the 70s - but that’s usually the recipe for the sickest library stuff, isn’t it. This collaborative effort from a gang of funky Frenchman with sick names like Francis Personne, Yan d'Ys, Ode Ronronnière and Serge D'Usson, all led by the mysterious Jacky Giordano, lands somewhere between electric Herbie, Morricone and Brian Eno. D-side cut “Fluid Man” is the showstopper with its slippery square lead and loopy Moog bassline, but all four tunes have their place in a funky DJ set or adventurous home listening sesh. First time any of these tracks have been pressed on 7-inch vinyl; limited edition of 500, recommended.

  • 7" double vinyl pressing
  • includes 4 songs from the original LP
  • part of the Dynamite Cuts import 7" series
  • heavy card cover
  • limited edition of 500
  • music label: Dynamite Cuts 2019
reviewed by Le Canard 10/2019
UPC: 7141095201514


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed