Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Assume Form Vinyl 2LP

Republic RecordsSKU lp-10517

Mr. Blake's brightest record yet
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

James Blake has made some new friends while keeping one foot firmly in the underground. With a truly impressive list of production credits over the last few years (Kendrick, Beyonce, Vince Staples...), it’s clear that the world has caught up to his downcast dubstep-inspired style. The shared DNA of electropop and hip hop has been discussed to death, but Assume Form sees Blake finding new points of both comparison and contrast, technicolor pop flourishes brightening his typically dreary work. “Into The Red” sports Yeezus-style vocoder, and “Mile High” has a ruthless Hot 97 kickdrum supplied by Metro Boomin'. "Tell Them" is a moody duet featuring plucked strings and heavenly falsetto vocals by Moses Sumney, while "Don't Miss It" sees Blake oh so alone again, save for his piano.  Travis Scott hooks it up on Mile High, and Andre 3000 rips through a double-time freestyle on "Where's The Catch?". This LP comes pressed on double black vinyl, digital download included.

  • gatefold jacket w/ printed innersleeves
  • digital download included
  • music label: Republic Records 2019
reviewed by M CK Y 04/2019
UPC: 602577441899


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed