Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

HEAVN (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

JagjaguwarSKU lp-9049

soul-stirring debut from Chicago singer-songwriter/poet
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"It's just powerful to me to know the lineage and influences going into the making of the song," says Jamila Woods, a Chicago-based singer-songwriter/poet who's been a frequent collaborator with notable hip-hop, jazz, and soul artists. For her debut album, HEAVN, she draws from her surroundings, past and present, and what comes forth is a "progressive, delicate, and minimalist" soul project that's full of substance, whether it be her confident ideas about family, history, police brutality, or her thoughts on the importance of self love. It's stirring from the beginning to end, as she turns her personal experiences into a clear message that resonates in a much larger context, and her voice, both musically and metaphorically, is a s force that deserves the "once-in-a-generation" description it is often lauded with. Easily one of the strongest r&b/soul/hip-hop releases of recent memory with guest appearances from Donnie Trumpet, Noname, Saba, & Chance the Rapper - recommended. Check out: "Lonely," "In My Name," "Blk Girl Soldier," "LSD," and "Holy" as well as the title track, which samples The Cure (Woods loves The Cure) "Just Like Heaven."

  • limited-edition white vinyl
  • includes digital download
  • music label: Jagjaguwar 2017
reviewed by nakaveli 10/2017
UPC: 51690376


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed