Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

The Velvet Rope Vinyl 2LP

VirginSKU fr-4134

go inside Janet's inner velvet rope
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $34.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

"We've all driven by premieres or nightclubs, and seen the rope separating those who can enter and those who can't. Well, there's also a velvet rope we have inside us, keeping others from knowing our feelings." What a journey this album is. Originally released in 1997, Ms. Jackson wrote The Velvet Rope following an emotional breakdown, which came about as a result of her childhood-and-adolescence-trauma-induced depression. The record, at 22 tracks long (lots of interludes), addresses a wide range of related issues: relationships, domestic violence, self worth, etc. It also deals explicitly with sexuality, as expressed through the likes of "My Need" and "Free Xone." Musically imaginative, the LP lays out a coherent, forward vision that takes from disco, funk, soul, and various electronic genres, and Janet's darker, wistful approach to pop, as showcased in the smash single "Together Again" and more, is a blueprint for alternative r&b that would follow course. In addition to the aforementioned, check out "Empty," which could easily have come out in the last few years, "I Get Lonely," "Go Deep," and "Tonight's the Night." Oh, love the interludes, too.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold jacket w/ printed inner sleeves
  • original release year: 1997
  • music label: Virgin 2019
reviewed by singing in japanese 08/19
UPC: 602577666698


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed