Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Spiritual Jazz Vol.9 - Blue Notes Part One Vinyl 2LP

JazzmanSKU fr-4063

the oft-overlooked spiritual side of one of jazz's greatest institutions, Part 1 of 2
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 279 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Jazzman deliver the Spiritual Jazz collection you never knew you needed with Volume 9, showcasing the oft-overlooked spiritual side of Blue Note Records. Alfred Lion & Francis Wolff’s jazz behemoth has always stood out to us for their bebop mutations and scholarly, innovative approaches to form (and perhaps most importantly, clean lines) in the 1950s and 60s, but we admit we’ve categorically neglected the spiritual side of their late 60s / 70s output, instead favoring the Mizell Brothers’ jazz-funk sound of mid-career hallmarks by Donald Byrd, Bobbi Humphrey et al. Admittedly, I wasn’t familiar with most of the tracks included on Spiritual Jazz 9, but there’s even an Andrew Hill tune on here taken from an album I’ve never even seen or heard of (“Poinsettia” from One For One, 1975) and he’s my favorite Blue Note pianist. The coveted collection is split into two double vinyl sets (here’s the other one); highlights on Part 1 include Wayne Shorter’s “Footprints,” Bobby Hutcherson’s “Verse,” Elvin Jones’ “At This Point In Time,” Andrew Hill’s “Poinsettia” and Duke Pearson’s “Empathy.” Also includes selections by Pete La Roca, Eddie Gale and Freddie Hubbard. Housed in gatefold jacket with extensive liner notes, recommended.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • includes rare tracks from the Blue Note Records catalog
  • housed in gatefold jacket
  • exclusive physical release, no digital
  • tracklist: SIDE 1 1. Bobby Hutcherson - "Verse" 2. Pete Laroca - "Basra" SIDE 2 1. Wayne Shorter - "Footprints" 2. Elvin Jones - "At This Point In Time" 3. Andrew Hill - "Poinsettia" SIDE 3 1. Eddie Gale - "The Rain" 2. Duke Pearson - "Empathy" 6. Bobby Hutcherson - "Searchin' The Trane" SIDE 4 1. Duke Pearson - "The Phantom" 2. Freddie Hubbard - "Assunta"
  • music label: Jazzman 2019
reviewed by winston wolf 02/2019
UPC: 85635674


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed