Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Coltrane's Sound (180g 45rpm) Vinyl 2LP - Limited Edition

ORG MusicSKU fr-3035

special audiophile pressing, numbered
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$44.95 Original Price$49.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 449 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Underrated album from Coltrane's time on Atlantic. Even though the songs on Coltrane's Sound were recorded during the same sessions as his classic My Favorite Things the album does get nearly as much attention. It was released in 1964, after Coltrane had made the move to Impulse!, but has that same quartet rounded out by pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Steve Davis, and drummer Elvin Jones. They help Coltrane bring to life classics like "Central Park West," "Liberia" and "Equinox." The two standards on the album, "The Night Has A Thousand Eyes" and "Body And Soul," are given unique and distinctive voices as only Coltrane could. Coltrane's Sound represents the fertile period in the saxophonist career when he started first recording albums as a band leader.

  • individually numbered edition of 2000
  • 2LP 180 gram pressing pressed at Pallas Group (Germany)
  • mastered from original tapes
  • plays at 45rpm
  • gatefold jacket
  • recorded during the same sessions as My Favorite Things
  • music label: Atlantic 1964 / 2010
reviewed by Cool Hand 11/2014
UPC: 01749652


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed