Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Ole Coltrane (Atlantic 75, Clear Colored Vinyl, Mono) Vinyl LP

AtlanticSKU fr-4874

wide ranging modal jazz from pioneering saxophonist
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Final studio album for Atlantic from jazz legend John Coltrane. Ole Coltrane was originally recorded in 1961 after Coltrane had made his first record for his new label, Impulse! Records. There was one more album remaining on his contract with Atlantic, so he brought his quintet along with Art Davis and Freddie Hubbard to A&R Studios. The resulting recordings showed Trane transitioning from his early, more accessible material to the challenging, expansive music he would record later in his career. Everything is stretched out, the solos are long and the songs themselves are extended about as far as possible. The double bass work of Art Davis and Reggie Workman propels the music forward, seemingly forcing Coltrane to up his own game. And after the epicness of "Ole" and the free flowing blues of "Dahomey Dance," we're left with the sensuous "Aisha." It's a cut that makes you wonder why Coltrane did not record more of McCoy Tyner's compositions. Three tracks in all. Released by Atlantic on crystal clear mono vinyl.

reviewed by Cool Hand 06/2017
UPC: 603497838387


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed