Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Wake Up! (Orange Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP

G.O.O.D. MusicSKU hh-4728

politically inspired and grooving soul covers
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $31.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 319 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

WAKE UP!  Because that is the name of this album.  This is a beautiful collaboration between The Roots and John Legend covering some of the best socially aware Soul of the 60’s and 70’s.  The album was inspired by the presidential election of 2008 and all the themes of awareness and consciousness that made the election so special are here at the forefront.  Traversing the lines of gospel, reggae and hip-hop, the album touches on classics like Marvin Gaye’s “Wholy Holy”, Donny Hathaway’s “Little Ghetto Boy” and “Wake Up Everybody” from Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes.  Another stand out is a cold-blooded rendition of the Curtis Mayfield written/Baby Huey recorded “Hard Times”.  This is really a perfect storm, wrapped up in a nice convenient package.  All the funky, swinging grooves of The Roots with the soulful crooning of John Legend all coated in the air of an historic election.  There’s also alternate version of “Shine” from the “Waiting for Superman” documentary as well as a live recording of “Wake Up Everybody”.  Relieve the spirit of late 2008 on this beautiful 2LP. 2017 orange vinyl pressing.

  • pressed on orange colored vinyl
  • limited edition of 2500
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: G.O.O.D. Music 2017
reviewed by boumtje-boumtje 10/2014
    UPC: 888751240117


    Review & Q+A


    Labheads Also Viewed