Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Love Is Real (180g) Vinyl LP

Ribbon MusicSKU lp-9836

don't let your mouth become an open grave
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$17.95 Original Price$21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

“There are all sorts of people in Hollywood who immediately made it less and less possible to feel bad for myself. I started to feel the joy of humility and gratitude just to be who I am” - this sentiment fueled Love Is Real, John Maus’ second album for London-based Upset The Rhythm. He went into the record with a provision he didn’t have during the making of his first album: the knowledge that the songs would indeed eventually be heard. And without that aforementioned humility and gratitude, you can imagine Maus’ head just totally exploding under the pressure. The songs here are tighter, the production values are higher, and there are gleaming moments that foreshadow the pop purity of Pitiless Censors; that certain quality Maus himself has described as the “take your shoes off and dance around in your socks to it” element, evident on the incredible catchy “Pure Rockets,” MDMA-induced baroque dance party “My Whole World’s Coming Apart” or the haunting “Don’t Worship The Devil.” Not to mention the Ian Curtis-on-zoloft vibes of “Do Your Best,” or the anthemic “Rights For Gays” (oh yeah), two of the album’s most memorable tunes. But spend some time with the weirder tracks too: “Green Bouzard,” “Tenebrae,” “Times Is Weird,” the Tom Clancy-esque “Navy Seals.” This is John Maus at his most haunted, medieval, Castlevania-sounding. You don’t have to run anymore. Recommended! 

  • 180g vinyl pressing
  • poly-lined inner sleeve
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Ribbon Music 2018
reviewed by yung pilot astray 07/2018
UPC: 887834007319


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed