Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

In Spite Of Ourselves (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Oh BoySKU lp-10878

vintage country songs made contemporary, ft. Lucinda Williams, Emmylou Harris & more
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

John Prine is considered one of the most influential songwriters of his generation, but he is beloved by all ages and demographics. In Spite Of Ourselves is the country-folk singer-songwriter's 13th studio album, and was originally released in 1999. Unlike his other albums, this album only includes one track penned by Prine himself, with the rest of the tracklist made up covers of vintage country music classics. This was his first release following a victory over throat cancer, changing his voice forever and making this record's inclusion in the “10 Bands, One Cause” program all the more appropriate. In Spite of Ourselves is a concise tribute to the music Prine grew up made current via duets with contemporary vocalists. Prine describes his process in finding new collaborators for the album thusly - ”I made a list of my favorite girl singers and the first nine I called said 'yes.' I nearly fell over." The record features duets with folk and alt-country vocalists including Iris DeMent, Lucinda Williams, Emmylou Harris, Dolores Keane, Trisha Yearwood, and more. Players on the album include Eddy Emmons and Dan Dugmore on Pedal Steel, the record also features Sam Bush, Kenny Malone, Jason Wilber, Jim Rooney, and Matty Stewart. This album is packaged in a gatefold sleeve, and is pressed on limited edition pink colored vinyl. 

  • pink vinyl pressing
  • limited edition, part of the "Ten Bands, One Cause" series
  • music label: Oh Boy 2019
reviewed by THE FORGIVING TREE 06/2019
UPC: 644216239863


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed