Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Asleep Versions (180g, Free MP3) Vinyl 12"

DominoSKU lp-6361

ambient reworks from Hopkins' full length
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $15.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Jon Hopkins seems to have always had an ear for detail. The Brian Eno protege and collaborator's Immunity was deep and intricate, no sound unprocessed as the songs seemed to fill every inch of space. Asleep Versions takes four of the standout tracks from that album and reimagines them as stretched out ambient pieces. This allows new elements to shine on the surface of the music. King Creosote's Scottish vibrato is pushed to the front of "Immunity," taking the song in a completely different direction. "Open Eye Signal (Asleep Version)" is led by 7 minutes of glacial pads before the piano is allowed a single note. The songs fit together as a single piece of music and it seems that is the only way to really take it all in. Somehow it feels as if the material is particularly informed by where is was recorded. Hopkins decamped to Mosfellsbaer, Iceland on the outskirts of Reykjavik to work on Asleep Versions and the album seems steeped in that country's icy winters.

  • 180 gram pressing
  • includes free download
  • music label: Domino 2014
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 11/2014
UPC: 10138792


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed