Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Veneer (180g) Vinyl LP

MuteSKU lp-7115

sparse and ethereal contemporary folk music
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $20.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 209 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Debut studio album from Sweden's Jose Gonzalez. Veneer was originally released in 2003, but took nearly two years to make it to the US. When they finally did make it here, Gonzalez's sparse recordings, usually just his guitar and double tracked vocals, were serenading large parts of the population gently to sleep. The standout of his debut is his cover of The Knife's "Heartbeats." Set to the sound of expertly finger picked guitar, the cover strips the original's electro pop down to a sweet lullaby. In doing so Gonzalez follows in the footsteps of other great folk covers like M. Ward's "Let's Dance," Iron & Wine's "Such Great Heights," and Frente!'s "Bizarre Love Triangle." Includes the songs: "Remain," "Crosses," "All You Deliver," and "Save Your Day." Eleven tracks in all. Released by Mute on 180 gram vinyl.

  • 180 gram vinyl pressing
  • music label: Imperial Recordings 2003 / Mute 2012
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 10/2015
UPC: 95206980


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed