Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Borga Revolution! - Ghanaian Music In The Digital Age 1983-92 Vinyl 2LP

Kalita RecordsSKU fr-4841

first-ever compilation of West African synth/disco/boogie aka 'Burger Highlife'
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$24.95 Original Price$32.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Kalita Records unveil the first ever compilation focusing on the phenomenon of 'Burger Highlife', a crossover of West African melodies with synthesizers, disco, and boogie that took over Ghanaian airwaves during the 1980s and beyond. Highlighting key recordings from genre-defining artists including Thomas Frempong and George Darko, as well as more obscure sought-after tracks by elusive bands such as Aban and Uncle Joe's Afri-Beat, Kalita come to the rescue of audiophiles, DJs, and music-lovers alike with Borga Revolution! The 1970s had witnessed an increased Western airtime and physical presence in Ghana introducing funk, soul, and disco sounds to the region. By the turn of the decade the country was also enduring economic turmoil, with rising poverty, military dictatorships, and long periods of enforced curfews (amongst other factors) making it impossible for artists to survive. As a result, many Ghanaian musicians with a broader outlook began to pursue their careers in the west, moving to both Europe and America in search of stardom. It was here that Ghanaian musicians developed a digitized version of highlife music which fully embraced Western contemporary music styles and newly introduced technology such as the Yamaha DX7 synthesizer and various drum machines. It is in this context in which the evolution of Ghanaian dance music and the emergence of 'Burger Highlife' was born. With Borga Revolution!, Kalita endeavor to tell this story, with prominent and lesser-known musicians' accounts and documentary evidence providing a comprehensive understanding of this shift to the digital age. Also features Native Spirit, Wilson Boateng, Paa Jude, and Dr. K. Gyasi's Noble Kings. Includes 16-page booklet featuring extensive interview-based liner notes on each artist and never-before-seen archival photos. Gatefold sleeve." - Kalita Records

  • first-ever compilation focusing on 'Burger Highlife': a crossover of West African melodies w/ synthesizers, disco, and boogie in 1980s Ghana
  • black double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold sleeve
  • includes 16 page booklet w/ extensive liner notes, artist bios + photos
  • music label: 2022
UPC: 4062548030921


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed