Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Headnod Suite Vinyl 2LP

Stones ThrowSKU hh-4738

jazzy instrumental hip-hop for fans of Dilla
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

KARRIEM RIGGINS BRINGS US HIS 2ND SOLO LP OF INSTRUMENTAL HIP-HOP. The Detroit multi-instrumentalist and producer first showed up on our radar after some bonkers collabs with J Dilla (“The Clapper” from Welcome 2 Detroit, back to back bangers “Over The Breaks” and “Body Movin’” from The Shining). Riggins’ swing-infused approach to hip-hop is informed by his background as a jazz drummer, having sat in on sessions and concerts with everyone from Paul McCartney to Donald Byrd, but it’s clear that Dilla has had a lasting effect on Riggins. Headnod Suite boasts soulful edits in the style of Donuts as well as dissonant machine-funk bangers reminiscent of Dilla’s Moog experiments. Spread over 2 LPs, the album’s 29 tracks will make you screwface so hard you might turn into a Minecraft blockhead.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • music label: Stones Throw 2017
reviewed by dj winyl destination 02/2017
UPC: 97375560


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed