Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

99.9% Vinyl 2LP

XL RecordingsSKU hh-4205

hyped sounds w/ house, hip-hop, r&b, disco influences
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale $33.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 339 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Louis Kevin Celestin AKA Kaytranada was introduced to FL Studio when he was 15. In 2012, the Montreal-based producer posted his remix of Janet Jackson’s “If” on Soundcloud, and the world took notice. More music—a forward take on house, disco, hip-hop, r&b, funk, & disco—followed (he’s released 13 projects and 41 remixes to date), and in 2014, Kaytranada inked a deal with XL Recordings. 99.9% is the long-waited debut from Celestin, and it is a stunning body of work w/ guest appearances from A-listers: River Tiber, Craig David, AlunaGeorge, Goldlink, Vic Mensa, BADBADNOTGOOD, Phonte, Anderson .Paak & more. The first thing about the album that’ll grab your attention is how sick the drum programming is, and that starts from the the opening seconds of “Track Uno” to the last bass note of “Bullets” featuring Little Dragon. Loose, tight, shuffling and at times rigid, the rhythmic virtouosity (Rick Rubin likes “how the drums were out of place sometimes” according to K) on display is truly one of a kind. You’ll also notice the finesse with which Kaytranada works with samples: chopped, flipped, and layered, they suddenly become colorful, genre-defying musical drawings. There are also shifting tempos (“Lite Spots”) and abrupt beat switch-ups, and the album brims with details that keep the listener engaged throughout the 15 tracks. Top-notch work, highly recommended!

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: XL Recordings 2016
reviewed by donut savage 07/2016
UPC: 634904076511


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed