Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Butterfly (180g) Vinyl LP

Be With RecordsSKU fr-3902

sought-after 1979 Japan-only vocal jazz fusion reissued by Be With
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $35.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 359 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

I Thought It Was You. Kimiko Kasai's sought-after 1979 collaboration with Herbie Hancock finally sees an official reissue, courtesy of the good folks at Be With Records. Recorded in Tokyo in 1979, Butterfly found the Japanese songstress teaming up with jazz legend Herbie Hancock, drummer Alphonse Mouzon, organist Webster Lewis, bassist Paul Jackson, and percussionist Bill Summers, for a sublime session that features inspired vocal covers of several Hancock/Headhunters favorites. Kasai's version of Herbie's vocoder anthem "I Thought It Was You" kicks off the set, offering an exquisite female-lead take on one of Hancock's most recognizable jams. The vibe continues with a funky, grooving rendition of "Sunlight," the smooth and subtle "Tell Me A Bedtime Story," "Maiden Voyage," and "Harvest Time." Also includes a gorgeous cover of Stevie Wonder's "As." This first ever vinyl reissue comes pressed on heavyweight 180 gram vinyl, complete with 4-page folded insert, and obi strip. Recommended.

  • 180g black vinyl pressing
  • 1st official reissue, previously Japan-only release
  • includes obi strip + 4-page printed insert
  • music label: Be With Records 2018
reviewed by neck cork 06/2018
UPC: 5050580687448


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed