Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Kool And The Gang (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Real Gone MusicSKU fr-4680

digger favorite 1969 instrumental funk & soul
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

It has taken me til about a year ago to forgive Kool for "Cherish" and "Celebration". But the smell of 80s scrilla and scrimps will do it to the best of em. Enter the Gang's first album, a soul/jazz/funk defining masterpiece. This record is a long player at the Lab and even gets the occasional rewind. The first track "Kool and the Gang" serves as just a teaser for this diverse album. "Breeze and Soul" is like elevator music for beat heads. Gentle melodies with heavy drums and open breaks. "Chocolate Buttermilk" has got the same feel but a bit more uptempo. Kinda like Brunswick-era Young Holt but with harder drums. 2 tracks perfect for loungin on the porch in the summertime (if we had one). "Sea of Tranquility" like the title is a snoozer, but hey, imperfections make the world go round. Side 2 starts with the dancefloor burner "Give It Up". This one gets my chitlins heated with that infectious bass and open drum breaks (sampled for Beasties' "Booty", Gangstarr's "Take a Rest" and much more). "Kool's Back" and the part 2 "The Gang's Back Again" is a funk classic with that down and dirty conga sound that sets it apart from Funk Inc. cover. "Raw Hamburger" slows down the funk, but the hook is nice. Although this album has the obvious breaks and funk classics, this album just gets better with every listen. Genuine feel good shit. Ask anybody who knows or tell someone who doesn't. Recommended.

  • purple colored vinyl
  • limited edition
  • music label: Real Gone Music 2022
reviewed by the mgmnt 05/2005
UPC: 848064013488


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed