Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Childish Prodigy (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP+7"

MatadorSKU lp-10932

2009 studio LP ft Adam Granduciel, includes bonus 'He's Alright' 7"
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"I tell people it’s my masterpiece. It's pretty epic. I put a lot of money into it. It cost in the thousands."

Originally released in 2009, Childish Prodigy was Kurt Vile’s first attempt at a proper studio album, and his first for Matador Records. Previous records were comprised of lo-fi home recordings cherrypicked to form full-length releases, while Childish was conceived and recorded as a cohesive work. Vile has said that the full, electrified sound of the record makes it his own Loveless compared to the stripped-down quality of his previous work. The album was recorded shortly after Vile left The War On Drugs to focus on Kurt Vile & The Violators, but there was no bad blood between the two bands, and Vile was pleased to have TWOD co-founder Adam Granduciel on board to work on the album. Fellow Philly musician Jeff Zeigler produced the record and plays synthesizer, while Jesse Trbovich and Mike Zanghi play guitar and drums respectively. Includes fan favorites “Freak Train,” “Blackberry Song,” “Hunchback” and more. This limited edition pressed on light blue colored vinyl celebrates the album’s 10th anniversary and includes the He's Alright 7-inch on purple colored vinyl.

  • blue colored vinyl LP + purple colored vinyl 7"
  • 10th anniversary edition, originally released in 2009
  • features Adam Granduciel of The War On Drugs
  • includes bonus three-track 7"
  • full color printed inner sleeve + printed insert
  • music label: Matador 2019
reviewed by big kahuna burger 11/2019
UPC: 744861088776


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed