Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Sound Of Silver Vinyl 2LP

DFASKU dm-2407

second album from NY dance-punk band
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$34.95 Original Price$37.98
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 349 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

I've always liked James Murphy. He's a charming character, rattling the cages of his very own audience with stuff like "Losing My Edge" while giving you the old "wink wink, nudge nudge," telling you he knows he's just as bad. Plus, he keeps the rockstar dreams alive for doughy, scruffy, un-rockstar type dudes like myself. Predictably, the DFA haters were all over the first single, "North American Scum," but here's the thing: by now, LCD Soundsystem songs run on a pretty precise formula (hard, skeletal percussion + affected vocals + shouting female backups + COWBELL), and if you're waiting for something else, they're probably not the band for you. Meanwhile, if you like your disco new and your jams extended, have I got the album for you! Check the Italo-influenced opener "Get Innocuous," the piano-driven "All My Friends," the punky "Watch The Tapes" or the appropriately titled closer, "New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down." In 20 years, when this shit isn't cool anymore, some kids are gonna discover this album and think it's the greatest thing ever. It's not - but it sure is fun. 9 tracks; 55:55 minutes, double vinyl.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold jacket w/ printed inner sleeves
  • includes foldout poster
  • music label: DFA 2007
reviewed by Chris Lemon-Red 09/2007
UPC: 829732216417


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed