Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Time And Place Vinyl LP

Future Days RecordingsSKU fr-3500

sought-after ‘71 Southern soul from enigmatic artist reissued
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Raw, electrifying Southern soul from Lee Moses, the howlin’ Atlanta singer, songwriter, and guitarist. Although Moses played on and contributed to countless funk/soul/r&b albums (he even worked w/ pre-fame Jimi Hendrix), his own output was limited to a series of well received 45s and this 1971 album, a certified deep-soul treasure that’s heavily coveted by fans and/or collectors of the genre. Time and Place was recorded with a band that consisted of members of The Ohio Players as well as musicians from Moses’ own backing group, and the “heady mix of funk, soul, and R&B” that permeates the 9-tracker begins from the opening/title track, followed by “Got That Will,” on which he name check many of his contemporaries (Jimi Hendrix, Dionne Warwick, Aretha Franklin, Blood, Sweat & Tears, Sly and the Family Stone, and more) while belting out about his own desire to succeed in the music business. In addition to the excellent songs of his own, Moses has three covers on Time and Place: “California Dreaming” by The Mamas and the Papas, which he turns into an intense, dark, and lament-filled stunner; “Hey Joe,” which puts his funky, scratchy guitar licks on full display; and the closer “Adorable One” by Joe Simon, which he turns into a “throat-ripping,” sizzling groover. Recommended.

  • gatefold sleeve
  • music label: Future Days Recordings 1971 / 2016
reviewed by donut savage 09/2016
UPC: 826853063012


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed