Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Corn Vinyl LP

AudikaSKU lp-6942

unreleased material from the prolific musical savant
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$15.95 Original Price$22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 159 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Steve Knutson's Audika Records continues to bring us hidden gems from Arthur Russell's prodigious output. Corn collects unreleased recordings from 1982-83, including early versions of songs that should be familiar to devoted fans. Russell was notorious for continuously reworking his material, crafting countless versions of his songs. That endless search for the perfect version provided a wealth of material for Knutson to draw from. The collection kicks off with a rather upbeat version of "Lucky Cloud," quite a contrast to the murky take that appeared on his 1986 album, World Of Echo. Other tracks, like "Corn" and "Keeping Up," are more clearly demo versions. There are traces of Russell listening back to himself as he plays through the songs. And there are more revelatory moments, as well. Both "See My Brother, He's Jumping Out (Let's Go Swimming #2)" and "This Is How We Walk On The Moon" provide alternate takes to some of Russell's most celebrated material. They show that just are there were many sides to Russell's musical persona there are just as many sides to each of his songs. Recommended.

  • music label: Audika Records 2015
reviewed by iller kale 06/2015
UPC: 10066244


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed