Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

I Am The Center - Private Issue New Age Music In America, 1950-90 (Yellow Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 3LP Boxset

Light In The AtticSKU lp-11467

the definitive New Age compilation
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $74.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 749 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

What is New Age? The often mis-understood genre usually gets a bad rap for it's loose association to to crystals and wizard beards, but Light In The Attic is here to finally set the record straight. On I Am The Center, LITA has put together the first major anthology of its kind, breaking down the myths and revealing undeniable truths about New Age music. This lovingly compiled triple vinyl set contains some of the biggest names in the genre like Laraaji (an artist Brian Eno discovered playing in Washington Square Park) and Iasos, right next to veritable unknown private press acts like Gail Laughton for a well rounded survey of the best the genre has to offer. The label says it best - "For new age, at its best, is a reverberation of psychedelic music, and great by any standard. This is analog, handmade music communicating soul and spirit, often done on limited means and without commercial potential, self-published and self-distributed. Before it became big business and devolved into the spaced out elevator music we know and loathe today, this was the real thing." New 2020 special edition on translucent yellow colored vinyl comes housed in deluxe slip case w/ 3 individual tip-on jackets, and 20-page book with photos, artist bios and liner notes from producer Douglas Mcgowan. Recommended.

  • translucent yellow colored triple vinyl pressing
  • housed in hard outer slip case w/ 3 full color tip-on jackets
  • 20 page booklet with notes by Douglas Mcgowan featuring interviews with artists and rare archive photos
  • artwork by Gilbert Williams and Janaia Donaldson
  • includes 2 unreleased tracks, 7 others previously only available on cassette
  • remastered from original sources at 24 bit/ 96 kHz
  • digital download included
  • music label: Light In The Attic 2020
reviewed by TKB 03/2015
UPC: 826853310710


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed