Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Somewhere Between - Mutant Pop, Electronic Minimalism & Shadow Sounds of Japan 1980-88 (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl 2LP - Turntable Lab Exclusive - LIMIT 1 PER CUSTOMER

Light In The AtticSKU lp-11713

Japanese rarities unearthed from the fissures between citypop, ambient, post-punk + other fringe sounds
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $35.95
This title is currently sold out.
Sign up for stock email to be notified if more become available ⬇️
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 359 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Somewhere Between hovers vibe–wise between two distinct poles within Light In The Attic’s Japan Archival Series - Kankyō Ongaku and Pacific Breeze. The compilation encompasses ambient pop, underground electronics, liminal minimalism and shadow sounds—all descriptors emphasizing the hazy nature of the nebula. Out–of–focus rhythms wear ethereal accoutrements, ballads are shrouded in static, and angular drums snake skyward on transcendent tones. They are blurry constellations defying collective categorization. From the avant-minimalism of Yoshio Ojima and Mkwaju Ensemble (w/ Joe Hisaishi of Studio Ghibli fame), to the leftfield techno-pop of Mishio Ogawa and Noriko Miyamoto (featuring members of YMO), and highlights from the groundbreaking Osaka underground label Vanity Records, these are the sounds of transition and searching—a celebration of the freedom found in floating. Compiled by Mark 'Frosty' McNeill (dublab), Somewhere Between is a collection of music, much of it released for the first time outside Japan, that is bound more by energetic vibration than shared history, genre or scene." - Light In The Attic

  • Turntable Lab exclusive
  • limit (1) per customer
  • cherry blossom colored double vinyl pressing
  • printed inner sleeves w/ extensive liner notes + artist bios
  • includes obi strip
  • limited edition of 300
  • music label: Light In The Attic 2021
  • TTL Editions 046


UPC: 826853318310


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed