Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Hard Core Vinyl 2LP

AtlanticSKU hh-4726

provocative debut album from Queen Bee
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $29.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 299 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Lil Kim made a splashing debut with Junior M.A.F.I.A on 1995's Conspiracy, but she'd soon beat her own path as one of the biggest rappers of the '90s. 1996's Hard Core contributed much to her megastar status; released when the Brooklyn native was still in high school, the album shook up the industry with raw, provocative, liberating lyrics and the sexy/glamorous-gangsta persona that Kim cultivated. The all-star production team (Puff Daddy, Stevie J, David "Ski" Willis, Jermaine Dupri) and stellar features (Jay-Z, Lil' Cease, The Notorious B.I.G.) aside, it's bars like "If Peter Piper pecked em / I bet you Biggie bust em / he probably tried to fuck him / I told him not to trust him / Lyrically I dust em off like Pledge / Hit hard like sledge-hammers / Bitch with that platinum grammar" that make Hard Core a certified classic, as the conviction with which Lil Kim spits every syllable on every track is "unswervingly committed, dedicated, and intense" aka real af. Check out "Queen B@#$H," "Big Momma Thang," "Drugs," "Crush On You," "No Time," and "Not Tonight."

  • 2LP reissue
  • part of Rhino's Start Your Ear Off Right campaign
  • music label: Atlantic 1996 / 2016
reviewed by donut savage 10/2017
UPC: 18338952


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed