Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials
  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Official reissue of power chord pioneer's self-titled 1971 studio album. It came as a surprise to me that Link Wray’s most definitive record was poorly received upon its initial release. It shares so many sonic commonalities with Van Morrison’s Moondance and the Rolling StonesLet It Bleed, which both saw widespread success the year prior, but it was denounced by fans due to Wray’s departure from his earlier, more raucous sound. And yet, 50 years later, it's only aged like fine wine, influencing new generations of musicians along the way. The Neville Brothers, Father John Misty, and Calexico have all covered “Fallin’ Rain,” the somber, final track on side A which criticizes gun violence in the USA. Side B opener “Fire and Brimstone” takes the upbeat rhythms of the Stone’s “Gimme Shelter” and blends them with burning Biblical imagery into an apocalyptic banger. Overall, Link Wray is a quintessential roots-rock record and a perfect companion to Light in the Attic’s Native North America Vol.1 compilation. 11 tracks on tri-color split vinyl, recommended.

  • red, orange + green split colored vinyl pressing
  • remastered sound
  • housed in deluxe gatefold sleeve
  • includes printed foldout insert w/ new liner notes
  • first official vinyl reissue
  • music label: Future Days Recordings 2021
reviewed by SHH! 07/2021
UPC: 826853363334


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed