Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Exile In Guyville Vinyl 2LP

MatadorSKU lp-9713

critically acclaimed 1993 debut
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$24.95 Original Price$27.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

25th anniversary pressing of Liz Phair's critically acclaimed 1993 debut, Exile In Guyville. The 1993 project from the influential singer-songwriter continues to appear on many "best of" lists, and its "emotionally forthright" lyrics and feminist tenor (whether intended or not), as well as the appropriately moody lo-fi sound, explain why. Phair has mentioned that Exile.. is a song-to-song response to The Rolling Stones' Exile On Main St., and it is interesting to observe the pacing/sequencing of the album to the 1972 LP from Mick Jagger & gang: "Flower," contains lines like "I want to be your blowjob queen" and corresponds to "Let It Loose," the Stones' call-to-action tune for the uptight set. Although a few other moments warrant call backs to ...On Main St., the connection to the classic record is just a small part of what makes ...Guyville great; check out "6'1"," "Never Said" "F**k and Run," or "Divorce Song," and see how Phair pairs her monotone, almost deadpan voice with stripped down guitar riffs and brittle rhythms. Through 18 tracks, she delivers a classic, unapologetic album that tightly balances defiance & vulnerability in exploring sex, love, power, and more.

  • black double vinyl pressing
  • remastered by Emily Lazar
  • original release year: 1993
  • music label: Matador 2018
reviewed by rei kwondo 06/2018
UPC: 744861111412


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed