Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

I Told You So (Korean Psyche Rock, 180g) Vinyl LP

Beat Ball MusicSKU lp-10273

'80s Korean prog from expressive "campus group sound"
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$19.95 Original Price$32.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Locust is a 5-piece Korean band, which burst onto the scene in 1980 after winning Tongyang Broadcasting Company's 3rd Youth Gayo Festival with the song "하늘색 꿈," which translates to "a sky blue-colored dream" (not included on the album). Consisting of 4 males members and a female lead singer, Locust recorded I Told You So in 1981, and the longplayer would be the group's sole album, as it disbanded shortly after release. Locust belonged to what was categorized as "campus group sound," aka college bands, whose number saw a huge rise in Korea after Munhwa Broadcasting Company's inaugural 1977 music contest for college students. This was the media company's response, with many other entities such as the aforementioned TBC following, to fill the void left in popular music due to government crackdowns: "emergency action #9" of 1975, especially, plus some marijuana scandals. The competitions would prove to be a fertile ground for piping young, undiscovered talent into the mainstream. I Told You So is characterized by the heavy psychedelic & progressive rock influences, with Kim Tae-Min's colorful vocals and "lyrics that explore an aesthetic darkness beyond a youthful fantasticality" leading the charge. The keyboard and guitar work lays down the foundation for symphonic song structures, and although most of the songwriting/producing was handled by Sanullim's Kim Chang-hwan, it's Locust's expressiveness and musicianship that bring the tracks to life—check out "Shadows," "Night Path," and the title cut.

  • 24bit 96kHz remastered from og master tapes
  • 180g heavy weight vinyl
  • gate-folded sleeve w/ 4-page color insert
  • music label: Beat Ball Music 1981 / 2018
reviewed by BDL-0023 12/18
UPC: 53477210


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed