Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Words & Music, May 1965 (Indie Exclusive Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Light In The AtticSKU lp-13353

unheard compositions plus rare/unreleased versions of well-worn Velvet Underground classics + more
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $28.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 289 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Light in the Attic, in cooperation with Laurie Anderson, proudly announces the inaugural title in their ongoing Lou Reed Archive Series. Released in tandem with the late artist’s 80th birthday celebrations, the album offers an extraordinary, unvarnished, and plainly poignant insight into one of America’s true poet-songwriters. Capturing Reed in his formative years, this previously unreleased collection of songs—penned by a young Lou Reed, recorded to tape with the help of future bandmate John Cale, and mailed to himself as a 'poor man’s copyright' - remained sealed in its original envelope and unopened for nearly 50 years. Its contents embody some of the most vital, groundbreaking contributions to American popular music committed to tape in the 20th century. Through examination of these songs rooted firmly in the folk tradition, we see clearly Lou’s lasting influence on the development of modern American music – from punk to art-rock and everything in between. A true time capsule, these recordings not only memorialize the nascent sparks of what would become the seeds of the incredibly influential Velvet Underground; they also cement Reed as a true observer with an innate talent for synthesizing and distilling the world around him into pure sonic poetry. Featuring contributions from Reed’s future bandmate, John Cale, Words & Music, May 1965 presents in their entirety the earliest-known recordings of such historic songs as 'Heroin,' 'I’m Waiting for the Man,' and 'Pale Blue Eyes'—all of which Reed would eventually record and make indelibly influential with the Velvet Underground. Also included are several more previously-unreleased compositions that offer additional insight into Reed’s creative process and early influences." - Light In The Attic

  • all tracks previously unreleased, produced in partnership with Laurie Anderson + the Lou Reed Archive
  • yellow colored vinyl
  • indie exclusive
  • features the earliest-known recordings of 'I’m Waiting for the Man,' 'Pale Blue Eyes' and 'Heroin' plus seven unheard Lou Reed compositions
  • remastered from the original analog tapes
  • includes obi strip + 28p liner note booklet
  • limited edition
  • music label: Light In The Attic 2022
UPC: 826853118811


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed