Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

2 Demos (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Captured TracksSKU lp-9923

demos + instrumentals from Macky's debut LP
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 229 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Daddy’s on the sofa; pride of the neighborhood..." These are the outtakes and alternate versions from the sessions for 2, which is Mac Demarco’s second official release for Captured Tracks but technically only his debut full-length. The album offered a slightly more polished sound from the lo-fi warble that permeated Rock And Roll Night Club, and these demo recordings show a rougher side of the otherwise more polished tunes on 2. Lo-fi fetishists will love the kitchen table drums and overall murk of this early recording of “Cooking Up Something Good.” The sparkly guitars and tongue-click drums on these versions of “The Stars Keep On Calling My Name” and “Sherrill” recall Worn Copy-era Ariel Pink (I tried to get through this review without mentioning him but just couldn’t do it), and I think I might actually prefer them to the versions that ended up on 2. I'm definitely partial to these two (2!) recordings of “Dreamin” - both the scuzzy “Dreamin’ Fast” and the woozy screwtape version “Dreamin’ Slow” - over the album version. Best song title goes to the instrumental “Harrison Ford Escort,” which would eventually become the killer “Freaking Out The Neighborhood” on 2. Also check out the alternate instrumental demo of “My Kind Of Woman” and “Lonely Shredder,” which would serve as the instrumental basis of “Ode To Viceroy.” Limited edition repress on seafoam green vinyl to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Captured Tracks, recommended.

  • seafoam green colored vinyl
  • Captured Tracks 10th anniversary edition
  • digital download included
  • limited edition of 5000
  • music label: Captured Tracks 2018
reviewed by avocado andrew 08/2018
UPC: 817949014810


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed