Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Salad Days Demos (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Captured TracksSKU lp-9922

alt versions + outtakes from Macky's breakthrough LP
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$16.95 Original Price$22.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 169 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Macky's been a bad, bad boy..." These demos from the Salad Days sessions indicate that Mac Demarco had begun to upgrade his recording setup leading up to what would be his breakthrough album, as they’re all slightly cleaner than the tracks found on 2 Demos (also just reissued). Mac’s records are all done at home anyway, so what you’ll find here is more of a difference in cadence and arrangements than audio fidelity… it’s not like you’re listening to lo-fi 4-track demos of a band that would eventually flesh them out into 24-track prog epics like Rush or Pink Floyd or something. In other words, if you’d never heard Salad Days before, Salad Days Demos could easily pass as a Mac album, only with a lot of extra instrumentals. The OG “Passing Out Pieces” features a much louder synth part - this is the ultimate version as far as we’re concerned - while the demo versions of “Salad Days” (drum machine!) and “Blue Boy" are easy on the ears and a nice alternative if you’ve worn out the Salad Days versions. Unused instrumentals “Ken The Wolf Boy,” “Horse Hot Wee Wee Water,”  “Avocado Andrew” and the Boards Of Canada-esque (I mean, Mac is from Canada after all…) “Organ Ronald Donkey Water” are begging to be revisited and turned into songs. Frankly, there’s a ton of new music here; the only thing we could ask for is an alt version of “Chamber Of Reflection” (c’mon dawg!). Limited edition repress on white vinyl to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Captured Tracks, recommended.

  • white colored vinyl
  • Captured Tracks 10th anniversary edition
  • digital download included
  • limited edition of 5000
  • music label: Captured Tracks 2018
reviewed by avocado andrew 08/2018
UPC: 817949014803


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed