Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Vapor City 2LP

Ninja TuneSKU lp-5747

jungle and footwork inspired post dubstep
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 269 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

For as long as Machinedrum has been in the game, it's a little surprising that he's been only making wave in the past few years. 2011's Room(s) was one of the fist times that the producer had really gotten some shine. It revealed that Machinedrum (aka Travis Stewart) was one of the top beatsmiths in the post dubstep world, garnering praise from the far corners of the electronic music scene. He'd been crafting IDM and hyper hip hop beats for at least a decade by that point. Needless to say Vapor City, Stewart's hotly anticipated follow up, delivers in all the right places. The jungle and footwork rhythms are still intact while Stewart has expanded his breadth and forged new sonic territory for himself. There are subtle drone moments and songs that hint of Stewart's professed Boards Of Canada influence. "U Still Lie" comes off as a lost Washed Out cut and offers up a counterpoint to the rapid fire percussion of "Gunshotta" that opens the album. With the renewed interest in jungle and pastoral IDM Machinedrum seems to be providing the right sounds at the right time. It's only fitting that Vapor City is his debut for Ninja Tune. Limited edition first pressing on black speckled white vinyl, housed in a gatefold sleeve with 12 page booklet. Includes download code.

  • music label: Ninja Tune 2013
reviewed by Michu Meszaros 11/2013

UPC: 83288508


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed