Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Manfred Mann Chapter Three: Manfred Mann Chapter Three Vinyl LP

Creature MusicSKU lp-11189

first of the three Vertigo Records releases from experimental jazz rock band
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

In 1969, after a successful run of hit records, Manfred Mann disbanded. Mafred Mann and and long-time collaborator Mike Hugg formed Manfred Mann Chapter Three following the breakup, and this LP, recorded between June and October of 1969, "represents in general" what they "personally have been wanting to do for some years." Mann plays the organ and arranges the group's music, and Hugg handles vocals, plays piano and is the chief song writer. In addition, the group is augmented by a five-piece brass section and several distinguished jazz soloists. "Travelling Lady," Snakeskin Garter," Devil Woman," and "Time" define this self-titled debut, which relies heavily on drawn out, doomy one chord riffs, gruff vocals, raw brass and free-form solos. Heavily incorporating jazz and progressive sounds, the tracks are longer and experimental, although songs like "Ain't It Sad" and "Where Am I Going" are shorter and more melodic.

  • music label: Creature Music 1969 / 2020
reviewed by singing in japanese 03/2020
UPC: 5060051334122


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed