Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Inventions For Electric Guitar (180g) Vinyl LP

MG.ARTSKU lp-8052

timeless, trance inducing ambient space rock
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$19.95 Original Price$26.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 199 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Debut solo outing from Ash Ra Tempel guitarist Manuel Göttsching. Inventions For Electric Guitar was originally recorded in 1974 and is composed solely of layers of Göttsching's guitar playing. The pioneering composer and musician took advantage of the echo and delay effects, and multi-track recorders at his disposal to craft a trance inducing space rock masterpiece. "Echo Waves" opens the album with repeating rhythmic figures that slowly shift phase over the tracks 17 minutes. The effect is something like the sequences of early Tangerine Dream, but Göttsching's guitar creates a completely different aural experience. Things change course with the beautiful "Quasarsphere" as long, droning guitar tones take the place of the previous piece's pulsating arpeggios. Taking up the entire second side, "Pluralis" exists somewhere in between the two preceding tracks. It incorporates the rhythmic approach of the opener while layering the drones of the second piece. The entire album is easy to get lost in and is an essential part of any krautrock collection. One for the ambient heads and astral travelers. Three tracks in all. Released by Göttsching's own MG.ART imprint on black vinyl housed in a full color replica sleeve.

  • official reissue
  • black vinyl pressing
  • original release year: 1974
  • music label: MG.ART 2016
reviewed by Ask Sid 10/2016
UPC: 4260017599010


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed