Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

California Soul EP Vinyl 2x7"

JazzmanSKU fr-5120

selections of soulful tunes from the late jazz vocalist
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Not so long ago Marlena Shaw was a forgotten figure. The talented vocalist had made several LPs for respected labels such as Cadet and Blue Note, and she’d performed regularly throughout the ‘60s and ‘70s. But she hardly had what you might call diva status. Falling into the unfortunate category that slips uneasily between soul and jazz, she was accepted - but not especially admired - by aficionados of either genre. Then came the ‘90s, and an open-minded enthusiasm for soul and jazz - and more importantly - everything in between - soon changed that. Marlena Shaw became an icon, and the diva status soon blossomed amongst her new-found soul-jazz fans. On Disc One we have ‘California Soul’, probably the most enduring and well-known of her many songs, but just a few seconds listening will tell you that it is much more than that. The song 'Liberation Conversation' on the flip was only ever available on her highly revered 1969 LP 'The Spice of Life'. Disc Two showcases ‘Wade in the Water’, an ancient song rumoured to have been developed and popularised by slaves in the American south. 'Woman of the Ghetto' is one of her best-known songs and ends the set on the other side." - Jazzman

  • black 2x7" vinyl pressing
  • music label: Jazzman 2024
UPC: 5036468203344


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed