Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

What's Going On Live Vinyl 2LP

MotownSKU fr-4200

legendary 1972 concert in Washington D.C., 1st time on vinyl
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

SIMPLY PUT, What's Going On IS ONE OF THE MOST IMPORTANT RECORDS OF ALL-TIME. This is the ONLY live performance by Marvin Gaye of his LANDMARK 1971 album, recorded at the Kennedy Centre in 1972 and released on vinyl for the first time. The only known live recordings of "That's The Way Love Is," "You," "Right On," and "Wholy Holy" are included, as are the powerful “What’s Going On," "Inner City Blues," and "Mercy Mercy Me." There are 12 songs total and they unfold like a play in acts, each piece setting a different mood, and returning to themes with a final resolution. With the album being nothing short of a masterpiece, the live takes only enhance the listening experience, and it reminds us why when What’s Going On broke in 1971, it washed over the consciousness of the whole country. An invaluable piece of the modern human puzzle, recommended.

  • liner notes by David Ritz
  • newly mixed, on vinyl for the first time
  • music label: Motown 2019
reviewed by singing in japanese 10/2019


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed