Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

You're The Man Vinyl 2LP

MotownSKU fr-4061

fabled follow-up to What's Going On
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $24.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 249 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

"You're the Man" was the first single to the would-be follow-up to What's Going On, You're the Man, but the titular track's mediocre performance lead the Marvin Gaye to shelve the entire project in 1972. Recorded in Detroit and Los Angeles during a particularly prolific creative period for Gaye (he also produced it), the fabled LP is finally being released, and although the songs from the sessions have appeared on various formats, this is the first time they are available as a whole album as intended by the artist. In addition, 15 of the 17 tracks are available on vinyl for the first time, and the record will be accompanied by liner notes from gaye biographer, David Ritz, who writes that You're The Man is "Gaye's deeply personal internal conflict as a source of creative vigor and emotional burden as he experienced What's going On's massive success and all that came with it."

  • previously unreleased 1972 album from Marvin Gaye
  • black double vinyl pressing
  • housed in gatefold jacket w/ extensive liner notes
  • music label: Motown 2019
reviewed by pocari papi 02/2019
UPC: 602577163395


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed