Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Mezzanine Vinyl 2LP

Circa RecordsSKU lp-8672

brooding 1998 trip hop classic
1 Review
| Ask a question
sale Current Price$37.95 Original Price$39.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 379 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Massive Attack’s elusive and visionary third full-length back in print. Mezzanine eschewed much of the soundsystem-influenced homegrown Bristol sound they had previously perfected on Blue Lines and Protection, in favor of a dark & brooding new guitar-infused approach. The wall of guitar that rips through opener “Angel” would firmly signal their idealistic new sonic direction, but a glimpse of their shades-on-in-the-club urban chic is present in the rearview mirror on “Risingson”, “Black Milk” and “Group Four”. Founding member Andrew Vowles left the group after the recording of Mezzanine, displeased with the turn the band had taken. The album would prove to be the band’s most successful, entering the UK album chart at number one. Featuring outstanding contributions from Cocteau TwinsLiz Fraser (“Teardrop”, “Black Milk”, “Group Four”) and longtime comrade Horace Andy (“Angel”, “Man Next Door”, “Exchange”) alongside increased vocal spots from 3D and Daddy G after Tricky’s departure to focus on his solo career. The introduction of producer Neil Davidge to the fold would add a special cinematic edge to the album and all future output from the band. Mezzanine continues to be perfect fodder for movies and television nearly 20 years on, with contributions to The Matrix, Snatch, House and more bolstering the band’s fanbase over the years. After being out of print for 15 years, with spotty bootleg pressings popping up every so often, the crown jewel of Massive Attack’s rich discography is finally available again on double vinyl, with all original samples intact. Recommended.

  • double vinyl pressing
  • printed inner sleeves
  • music label: Circa Records 2017
reviewed by peanut dust 05/2017

A post shared by @turntablelab on


UPC: 602537540433


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed