Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Roots Of Electronic Sound (Astro Boy) Vinyl LP

Survival InstinctSKU lp-10951

1960's electronic experiments used in OG Astro Boy anime
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $23.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 239 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Matsuo Ohno was born in the Kanda district of central Tokyo in the late 1930’s, which was subject to constant bombing raids through the end of World War II. During the long period of rebuilding after the war he was unaffected by contemporary pop music and culture, aside from the electronic experimentation of German composer Karlheinz Stockhausen and left-wing filmmaker Fumio Kamei. His first experience in sound design was with the famous Bungaku-za theatre group, which staged performances of ancient classics and contemporary plays from the West. He also worked at Japan’s national broadcasting network NHK in their equivalent of the BBC’s Radiophonic Workshop, but became frustrated by the corporate restrictions and quit, his exceptional skill giving him the rare opportunity to work as a freelancer, where he refined his techniques with the latest and greatest in analog synthesizers. The tracks on Roots of Electronic Sound are primarily experimental sound effects and motifs that were originally recorded between 1963 and 1966, with many cues used in the animated adaptation of Osamu Tezuka’s unbelievably influential Mighty Atom (Astro Boy), one of the first anime productions ever. This is the first domestic issue of this album, and includes a printed insert with liner notes in Japanese. 

  • black vinyl pressing
  • includes printed insert (text in Japanese)
  • limited edition
  • original release year: 1975
  • music label: Survival Instinct 2019
reviewed by ONLY A LAD 06/2019
UPC: 0634438816171


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed