Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Girlfriend (Music On Vinyl 180g, Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Music On VinylSKU lp-10509

wuss-rock classic repressed on pink vinyl
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Matthew Sweet is a big ol' nerd. His music videos were some of the first to feature repurposed anime visuals, he had an album named after a coin-op arcade classic (Altered Beast - also note the parody of the Yamato Transport logo on the cover), and boy, is he intimidated by the ladies. Girlfriend sees Sweet reject the sights and sounds of grunge era in its entirety, instead choosing to craft jangly Big Star and Byrds-indebted power-pop. Guitar work from Richard Lloyd (Television) and Robert Quine (Richard HellLou Reed) add an angular ferocity to the mix. Highlights include include the Jefferson Airplane-inspired title track, MOR rocker "I've Been Waiting", and the Neil Young-ish "Nothing Lasts." Pressed on pink vinyl, this edition is limited to 1000. 

  • 180g pink vinyl pressing
  • includes a 12x12 six page booklet
  • limited to 1000 numbered copies
  • music label: Music On Vinyl 2019
reviewed by LUM INVADER 04/2019
UPC: 8719262009110


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed