Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Max Roach: We Insist! Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

Sowing RecordsSKU fr-4408

seminal avant garde protest jazz from 1960
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $21.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 219 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

"Originally released in 1960 on Candid Records, one of the major statements in the history of Jazz and African American liberation movements. Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite consists of five original compositions and performances staging and celebrating different moments and aspects of the African American history and culture. Here is a wonderful cast of musicians reunited around Max Roach (drums) and Abbey Lincoln (vocals). Throughout the album you can find great contributions from the likes of Booker Little (trumpet), Julian Priester (trombone), Walter Benton (tenor saxophones), James Schenk (bass), and three percussionists Michael Olatunji, Raymond Mantilla, and Tomas du Vall. Highlights include the highly intense triptych for drum and voice by Roach and Lincoln and a special appearance of tenor sax giant Coleman Hawkins on the opening 'Driva' Man'. Clear vinyl, edition of 300." - Sowing Records

  • clear vinyl pressing
  • featuring Max Roach (d), Abbey Lincoln (vox), Coleman Hawkins (t. sax), Walter Benton (t. sax), Booker Little (t), Julian Priester (trombone), James Schenck (b), Babatunde Olatunji (perc) + more
  • limited edition of 300
  • music label: Sowing Records 2020
UPC: 7427116347677


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed