Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

A Strange Arrangement Vinyl 2LP

Stones ThrowSKU lp-4373

modern soul with classic Motown influences
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $17.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 179 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Full length debut for Mayer Hawthorne on Stones Throw! The Detroit native burst into the scene with his first single "Just Ain't Gonna Work Out" (which we sold through tons of on red heart shaped vinyl), and now he's back with an entire album of raw, true to the essence soul music to prove he's for real. Mayer lets it loose throughout the entire LP - laying down wonderful arrangements ranging from burning slow jammers reminiscent of the Dramatics ("I Wish It Would Rain" and "Shiny & New") to uptempo hip shakers like the Temptations or Four Tops ("Your Love Ain't Pleasin'" and "One Track Mind"). He really goes for it 110% on the vocals too, even hitting falsetto highs a la Curtis Mayfield on tracks like "The Ills ." Also check standouts like "Green Eyed Love," the title track , and his previously released single "Maybe So, Maybe No." Refreshing and honest music through and through that makes you feel good. Recommended.

  • music label: Stones Throw / 2009
reviewed by the mgmnt 09/2009


UPC: 88707652


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed