Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Deathcrush Vinyl LP

Back In BlackSKU lp-10586

heavy & raw 1987 debut from inventors of Norwegian black metal
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $30.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 309 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A

Lab Overview

Calling Mayhem “notorious” is a bit of an understatement. The harrowing live performances, the suicides and murders, the church burnings, the song title “Chainsaw Gutsfuck". (Read these stories and more in the excellent The Death Archives by John Stubberud - skip the movie with Sky, though.) It’s difficult to quantify the influence of this raw, overdub-free thrasher, but it is undeniably the first studio release by a Norwegian black metal band. This is the only release by the original lineup of Maniac, Messiah, Euronymous, Necrobutcher (aka the guy that wrote the book), and Manheim, but these misanthropes chose to begin their EP with relatively tame instrumental piece (of what would later be dubbed “Dungeon Synth") composed by Conrad Schnitzler of Tangerine Dream and Kluster. The recording is lo-fi overall - Manheim later stated that their music was “something that [the studio technician] did not know how to record” - legend has it that he just set the levels, and away they went. “Deathcrush” shows the clear influence of thrash and hardcore, “Witching Hour” is a rumbling, unrefined cover of a track by British extreme metal band Venom. An essential document of a genre that intrigues, inspires, and terrifies to this day. This LP is pressed on black vinyl and is packaged in a gatefold sleeve with full lyrics (!). 

  • black vinyl pressing
  • gatefold sleeve with lyrics
  • limited edition
  • music label: Back on Black 2019
reviewed by STEWART YOUNG 06/2019
UPC: 803341225923


Review & Q+A

Labheads Also Viewed