Skip to content
  1. 🚚 Free Shipping on Orders over $99 to Continental US
  2. 10% OFF 4️⃣ or MORE Records Every Day! details
  3. 🔴 Save On Audio Gear shop gear specials

Corpse Flower (Colored Vinyl) Vinyl LP

IpecacSKU lp-10810

"a beautiful and sincere collection of music" from FNM frontman & Gainsbourg collaborator
Write a review
| Ask a question
sale $25.95
TTL Rewards icon Earn up to 259 Reward Points with this purchase! Read more
  • Get more info on our FREE SHIPPING terms
  • 📦 Standard Shipping ships within 1-3 Business Days
  • 🌎 International Shipping Experts, Fully Tracked
  • ⇨ Need a gear recommendation or a customized package?
  • Contact our support team for all your questions!

    Contact support for recommendations or customization questions

    We answer requests Mon-Fri 10am-6pm EST

  • Lab Overview
  • 🔊Tracklist
  • Review & Q+A
  • Tagged

Lab Overview

Corpse Flower is a new album from Mike Patton of Faith No More in collaboration with French composer Jean-Claude Vannier, best known for his work with Serge Gainsbourg. Wait, how on earth did this happen? “Jean-Claude and I met while working together on a Gainsbourg retrospective at the Hollywood Bowl in 2011,” explains Patton. “We bonded immediately. I could see he had a dedication and attention to detail that was relentless so the respect I had for him in my mind was magnified in person. We spoke loosely about working together in the future… and it took some time, but after a few years I contacted him and we began to ignite some sparks.” Vannier elaborates - “He made my music awaken with his unique perspective and interpretations of my songs. A formidable vocalist, with a sense of humor, Mike and I created a strong, beautiful and sincere collection of music, as well as a friendship.” The players on the album include members of Beck’s touring ensemble, Air, and Nine Inch Nails, in addition to the Bécon Palace String Ensemble. Patton’s incredible vocal range is put through its paces here, ranging from an old seafarer’s raspy grumble to dulcet Gainsbourgian incantations. We rarely analyze lyrics here, but Patton’s are thought-provoking, poetic, even a bit gross or silly - he’d surely be flattered by a comparison to latter-day Scott Walker. This record is packaged in a metallic foil gatefold sleeve with embossed details. Recommended. 

  • smoky swirl colored vinyl pressing
  • metallic foil gatefold sleeve with embossed details
  • digital download included
  • limited edition
  • music label: Ipecac 2019
reviewed by PATTON PENDING 09/2019
UPC: 689230021117


Review & Q+A


Labheads Also Viewed